Web Content 101: Copywriting and Your Business

What is Web Page Content?

When you read an article on a company’s blog, a product description, a welcome page or any other piece of text associated with that business, you are reading content, which is also sometimes called copy. (For the uninitiated, this can be a little confusing, as “copy” should actually be as fresh and original as possible for the best results!)

Beyond the obvious information-providing function of content, businesses also use it to get noticed, beat their competitors and help define the image and “feel” of their brand.

Why Do I Need Web Page Content?

Search engines are special websites that help web users find things online, and Google is by far the most popular and commonly used. Content is one of a handful of digital tools that help businesses climb up the search engine results pages in Google, putting them near the top of the list where they are more likely to be clicked.

Google uses a complicated (and mostly secret) system of calculations called an algorithm to figure out the best sites to offer as results for a particular search. Google knows that if a web user doesn’t get good quality results, they’ll likely grow frustrated and use another search method, and like any business, Google doesn’t want to lose customers. For this reason, the search engine tends to reward businesses that use well-written relevant content with higher positions in the search listings. Using “bad” content with grammatical and spelling errors is conversely punished, and can knock a business down the listing ladder. Copying content is one of the biggest errors companies make, as taking a competitor’s text and using it as your own can get you blacklisted from Google altogether!

Good content writing = better search engine placement = more customer traffic!

Is Web Page Content All I Need?

Web page content is only a piece of the overall puzzle when it comes to effectively marketing your business. It’s a great start, but don’t forget you’ll need graphic artists and IT help when it comes to assembling a website that looks and performs well.

In most cases, a content writer or copywriter is only responsible for words – that means that if you need graphics, site design, marketing or other tasks done, you’ll need additional team members.

4 thoughts on “Web Content 101: Copywriting and Your Business

    • ThatWordChick says:

      Hey Chris – unfortunately, my friend knows no more than you could find from grabbing a contact number/email off of the iWriter site. More than likely, an individual writer on iWriter grabbed a job there, went over to eLance and reposted it for less money, making themselves the middleman – not iWriter as a company. I can also tell you that iWriter isn’t going to give you your money back; they’ve scammed writers that actually work on their site directly and refunds are not in their vocabulary. Don’t hold your breath waiting for them to intervene and track down that rogue writer either – they’re probably long gone and the site doesn’t care enough to pursue.

      I’m sorry it happened to you – my policy is never to do more than $20 of work on spec for a new client, and to avoid working for non-US clients (the worst offenders, in my experience, for stiffing creative freelancers) altogether.

      • Chris says:

        It’s a long story, but basically Elance assured me multiple times that I was getting paid for my work. I’ve worked for Textbroker for years (both as a freelancer and employee), so I’m familiar with how they assure clients will pay authors.

        When elance assured me I would be paid, I figured it was OK to keep writing. Lesson learned.

        I basically told iWriter that if they don’t settle with me for some type of compensation, I’ll just contact their clients to explain the content they received was stolen and file DCMA requests to have them taken down.

        You’d think iWriter wouldn’t want me contacting dozens of their clients to tell them they wasted their money. I guess we’ll see what happens lol.

        Anywho, I’m glad I came across your articles. I’m new-ish to freelancing and Texbroker provides me with more than enough work, but I’m always interested in finding other opportunities.

      • ThatWordChick says:

        I cut my teeth on Textbroker when I was first starting in “the biz,” but time has shown me how incredibly awful they are in terms of pay rates, expectations and their overall treatment of writers. They shamelessly “promote” to 5 star when they have a heavy project that needs extra people, demoting willy-nilly after the need has passed. Dozens of people I know that are considered 4 star had the same experience over there, as well – they tried to make a run for 5 star, got 9/10 of their ‘sample’ articles approved and mysteriously got nicked for unexplained “awkward phrasing” on the 10th. Every. Single. Time. for 2-3 different sets of 10 articles. These are people that passed the proofreading test with 100s, jumped through all of the other crazy hoops, and some of which actually held college degrees in writing and currently wrote for major publications. They worked their tails off to be told they had to go back to the back of the line and put out 5 star work for 4 star pay AGAIN to be considered. If it looks like a scam and talks like a scam, it probably is a scam – call it like I see it.

        Textbroker was a decent place to work some 3-4 years ago, but it’s absolutely gone to hell. I left after I got knocked down to 4 stars (despite a 5 star ranking on literally every other major mill site) when I supposedly misused a dependent clause (I hadn’t, I had a friend going for her PhD in English check it for kicks) in a tiny spam piece on scammy herbal diet pills that paid a whopping two and a half bucks. Life’s too short to deal with that kind of nonsense and dishonesty.

Leave a Reply

